Alpha Xi Omega

Chapter Profile

Alpha Xi Omega Chapter: Fun Facts

Alpha Xi Omega Chapter received the following awards at the 2015 SC Regional Conference:

Chapter Awards
1st Place – Outstanding Chapter Exhibit Award
2nd Place – Media Excellence Award
3rd Place – Outstanding Chapter Scrapbook Award
1908 Acts of Green Achievement Award - Environmental Ownership

 Individual Awards
1st Place – Golden Soror of the Year, Garline Shaw
1st Place – Jewel M. Thomas Visionary Award, Velena McRae
2nd Place – Mary Louise Williams Guiding Star for Public Service Award, Delores Shaw
2nd Place – Graduate Advisor of the Year, Wanda Taylor
2nd Place – Outstanding Initiate Award, Karen Wright
2nd Place – Deralyn Riles Davis Spirit Award, Debra Hopson
2nd Place – Outstanding Basileus Award, Kim McCree

 Chapter Recognition
“Best of the Best“ – Awarded for Reporting - Connections
Platinum Award – Educational Advancement Foundation (EAF) Membership 

Copyright 2016.  Alpha Xi Omega Chapter, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is not responsible for the design nor content of these web pages. They are the sole property and responsibility of the Alpha Xi Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this website.  Last updated:  July 31, 2016

Alpha Xi Omega Chapter is the oldest and largest chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority in the Dallas/Fort Worth area.

Alpha Xi Omega Chapter membership exceeds 500 members, including more than 45 '50-Year Members'; over 170 '25-Year Members'; and over 100 Life Members.

Alpha Xi Omega Chapter is in the South Central Region. To view regional history, information and initiatives, visit the South Central Region website at

Alpha Xi Omega Chapter is the proud home of the 18th South Central Regional Director,

Dr. Mamie McKnight and the 21st South Central Regional Director, Mrs. Shirley R. Fisher.

Alpha Xi Omega Chapter is the proud home of the former Northeast Texas Cluster Coordinators:  Lynda Mayberry, Cynthia Nunn and Stephanie Hawthorne.

The following Alpha Xi Omega Chapter members serve on International Committees:

Shirley R. Fisher, International Sisterly Relations Committee Member

Emile Blaine, International Membership Committee Member 

Velena McRae, International Protocol Committee Member

The following Alpha Xi Omega Chapter members serve on South Central Regional Committees:
Beverly Calhoun, South Central Region Sisterly Relations Committee Member

Shirley Ison-Newsome, South Central Region Sisterly Relations Committee Member

Alpha Xi Omega Chapter is proud to sponsor three undergraduate chapters:
The “Electrifying” Epsilon Mu Chapter (University of North Texas)
The “E-llustrious” Epsilon Sigma Chapter (Texas A&M – Commerce)
The “Kaptivating” Kappa Mu Chapter (Southern Methodist University)

Alpha Xi Omega